My Summer Farewell

Before parting my little Vietnam for Barcelona (finally), I asked dad for a special treat – a getaway to the top-notch resort in Con Dao Island. Not only was the ocean, the beach, the cliffs, the food and the beach house were absolutely amazing, the island is a remarkable place to witness the Vietnam’s patriotism.

The island was once “the hell on earth”, residing 7 prisoners for both wars against the French and the American. Here, the official population is 7,000 but at night (when it’s daytime on the other side), the population increases to 27,000. Fear not though, as I did not experience any ghost/ panorama activities during my two nights.

I stayed at Six Senses Resort, because it was their off-peak time, I was lucky to be offered a promotion. The Ocean View Deluxe house that we stayed were amazing, featuring a private pool (each villa has one) and two-floor bamboo villa. The most exciting feature is the Butler service, a person who technically attend to all your needs, from movies download to the type of pillow and linen scent! The bathroom occupied a whole floor, with a stone bath tub (you can order aromatic bath fill) and outdoor shower.

The food: There are two restaurants, one dedicated for Vietnamese/ Asian and one’s for French cuisine. I went to the Vietnamese one for some snacks, ordered their Caramel homemade ice-cream for myself and apple and ginger (i think) juice for my consign. Both turned out amazing! My cousin – being a gym freak loved his drink very much as it was 100% sugar-free. Please pardon me for the lack of pictures as I was too eager to eat. Also, the light at the restaurant was super dark that my pictures do not do the dishes justice.

We headed to the seaside restaurant for dinner after a local historic tour (strongly recommend). I had duck capriccio while he get 99 day cured Wagyu beef for appetizer. We then had chicken liver parfait with almond and mushroom, and Steak for main course. Being health conscious (I gained 3kg/ 8lbs since I came back to Vietnam), we finished the meal with some tea instead of desserts. All the food were very well prepared, very satisfying. Strongly recommend if you miss the taste of Western food.

Though it was a short trip, it was a perfect way for me to end an unforgettable summer. It is now time for me to pack my bags and go again. This time though, to a place that I don’t even know how to speak their language 🙂 Barcelona, here I come.

ImagenImagenImagenImagenImagenImagenImagenImagenImagenImagenImagenImagenImagen

One thought on “My Summer Farewell

  1. Pingback: Farewell summer | Marly And June

Leave a Reply

